Excellence in Legal Ethics

Committees and Working Groups

To volunteer for a committee, contact a committee chair or co-chair. 



For information about the role of officers, see Art IV of the Bylaws.

  • President: Matthias Kilian, Germany Art IV Bylaws: Officer of IAoLE
  • Vice President: Francesca Bartlett, Australia
  • Treasurer: Scott Cummings, USA (c. Finance) Art IV Bylaws: Officer of IAoLE
  • Secretary: Vivien Holmes, Australia Art IV Bylaws: Officer of IAoLE
  • Iris van Domselaar, Netherlands (Conference Planning) Officer for a two-year term, Art IV s7 bylaws


For information about directors, see Art II s3 of the Bylaws.

Require a minimum of 3 and a maximum of 10.

  • Swethaa Ballakrishnen, USA (c. Web; webmaster)
  • Scott Cummings, USA
  • Tim Dare, New Zealand (m. Nominations)
  • Kyoko Ishida, Japan
  • Renee Knake Jefferson, USA (m. Prizes and Awards)
  • Helena Kruuse, South Africa
  • David Luban, USA (m. Nominations Committee)
  • Christine Parker, Australia (c. Prizes and Awards)
  • Sergio Anzola Rodríguez
  • Helena Whalen-Bridge, Singapore

Co-opted Members of the Board for Steering Group Purposes

  • Lisa Webley, UK (co-opted as General Editor of Legal Ethics) Art V s7 bylaws


For information about the role of committees, see Art III of the Bylaws.

Outreach Committee: Chair vacant, membership under review.

Conference Advisory Committee: Chair vacant; committee members: Julian Webb, Bruce Green, Nigel Duncan, and Scott Cummings.

Web Committee: Chair Sweethaa Ballakrishnen, co-opted members as needed. The Webpage Committee is tasked with providing content for and feedback regarding the IAOLE webpage www.iaole.org.

Prizes and Awards Committee: Chair Christine Parker; committee members: Renee Knake Jefferson, Matthias Kilian, and co-opted members as needed. The Prizes and Awards Committee is responsible for a biennial prize for the best legal ethics paper by an early career scholar. The winning paper is to be awarded at the Biennial International Legal Ethics Colloquium and published in Legal Ethics.

Finance Sub-Committee: Chair Scott Cummings. To date, decisions have been taken by the full board.

Nominations Committee: Chair David Luban; committee members: David Luban, Tim Dare, Kyoko Ishida, Helen Kruuse, Selene Mize. The Nominations Committee seeks out nominations for Director and Officer roles on the Board. Individuals may ask to be considered for nomination; people may also nominate others.